Book Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Goodreads

Title: By Your Side

Author: Kasie West

Format: Uncorrected Proof ARC Paperback

Release Date: February 2, 2017

Publisher: HarperCollins

No. of Pager: 352

Price: (Tentative Only) $9.99

Genre: Young-Adult, Romance, Fiction, Chick-Lit, Contemporary

img_20161222_174730

It’s my first time to read a novel from Kasie West and being a curious cat, I actually Googled some of her books after I finished reading her upcoming novel, given the fact that I got an advance-reader-copy. I was stunned that other reviews of her books are great but it just made me sad because By Your Side didn’t go to the list of my favorites.

I did like the thought of a girl and a guy being trapped on the library. It just felt surreal, right? To be honest, I am rooting so high about this novel because of the thoughts of a guy and books. The characters are just fine. Autumn is a girl who’s always hiding behind her camera. A type of simple type of heroine – not grand but not the simple one. Dax Miller, the boy who’s been locked in the library with her. He is somewhat a mystery and a silent-type guy as what he’s describe on the first chapters. To be honest, the personality of them on the book is not that consistent. They don’t feel like they are holding a character, especially on Autumn. She was revealed to have an anxiety disorder but I just felt like it just come out suddenly to make excuse on her personality. Also, Dax Miller seems to be off, he’s describe as a boy who loves to read and such but it just felt like an add-on to the story – an accessory.

The plot is actually just simple. It’s readable and predictable. I’ll put it bluntly, the story was a little bit shallow. I wished that there could be some serious conflict or deeper context that could make the story interesting.

The pacing is just okay though I was actually bored on the first part especially with the games. The characters and plot were not my favorite but there are still scenes that I like… For example, the part where there’s Owen, Autumn’s brother. He’s my favorite character in the novel because he’s adorable and funny. I also like Autumn’s family. Contrary, my least favorite part was Dallin’s act on the situation between Jeff and Autumn, he just acted like a jealous girlfriend.

Over all, I was not totally amazed by the story. The good points of the story were outweighed by the not so good ones.  If you are just looking for a book to read just to pass time this will be perfect but if you’re looking for a twist love story with unpredictable plot… Well, I don’t know if you’ll like it or not.

Favorite quote on the book: “Possibilities don’t hurt as much as realities. Possibilities are exciting and endless. Realities are final.”



Ratings


Characters: 

3 and half


Plot:

3 star


Writing Style:

4 and half


Pacing: 

3 and half


Ending:
3 and half

 


Final Rating: 3.5/5 

3 and half



About the Author:

Kasie West

Kasie West lives with her family in central California, where the heat tries to kill her with its 115-degree stretches. She graduated from Fresno State University with a BA degree that has nothing to do with writing.

Goodreads || Website

_20161222_150102_20161222_150049

Follow me around the Internet

Instagram||Twitter||Tumblr

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s