Book Review: Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good? – goodreads

Title: The Girl on the Train

Format: Hard Bound Copy

Release Date: January 13th 2015

Publisher: Riverhead Books

No. of Pages: 336

Price: $16.24

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Fiction

img_20161222_164712

I really love to read books but sometimes the genre is all what it takes to keep me reading it on a fast –paced with just a day or less. Truthfully, I am not much a big fan of thriller/suspense genre though I had favorites from the novels of JODI PICOULT.

So after 2-3 days of reading, I had finished The Girl on the Train. It is actually interesting as I read through the rest of the book. A girl who loves to observes things while she was riding on the train. I actually liked the book but one of concern of mine is that it was slow-paced. I just felt excited on the somewhat 1/4 part of the book though I was so hooked on the last few chapters of it. It kept me guessing and it do excites me as the thrill on finding out the mystery goes on.

On the part of the characters, there are mainly 5 of them but only 3 had their own point of view on the novel. The story revolves more on Rachel, a girl who take the same commuter train every morning and evening. If I were to describe her, as what the story leads me, she is a curious, unstable, alcoholic and messed-up woman. The action on the story happened after some chapter when Rachel saw something when she is gazing out the window on the train. Anna, on the other hand, is a bitter, unsecured and somewhat a regretful woman. Megan, another main character, I was speechless with her attitude. Seriously, I don’t like most of the characters. It is not a charming love story so maybe it doesn’t matter at all whether you liked the characters. The drama between the characters are really hard to take and messed-up in a good way. Hawkins delivered the story in a novelistic trickery.

As what I had said, the story was slow-paced. I will like more if there had been an action at the very beginning of it. Maybe it will make the readers more see it as an interesting piece. I am not against that plot since I totally find it very entertaining and shocking too. I somewhat guessed the person but not the connection of them, it is not what I imagined it to be. It was rather a good trickery for the readers because maybe you are rooting for the one that the book suggests you but only to find out that you guessed it wrong. Isn’t it good? I like the stories which are not too predictable, making me guess and kind-of feeling frustrated for not seeing it coming up. What more I did like is the storytelling of Hawkins. It gave me a great vision and an eye to the world of them since the writing is kind of a descriptive one. The use of different point of views and dates are quite effective too.

The ending, on the most shocking part, is my favorite. It is so much intense! I just don’t like the Anna part but it was presented very well. It’s just sad that the ending is not much on a progress way related to the characters of it.

What did I learn on the story? Well, it takes me some time to think of it but I guess it will be looking on the positive way even after the hurricane came. It is not on the story but I did see on the opposite side of it.

Over all, I enjoyed reading it and recommend it to be read.

 

My favorite quote on the novel:

“I had never understand why people can blithely disregard the damage they do by following their hearts.”

 



Ratings


Characters: 

4 star


Plot:

4 and half


Writing Style:

 4 star


Pacing: 

3 star


Ending: 4 star


Final Rating: 4/5 

4 star



About the Author:

Image result

Paula Hawkins worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning her hand to fiction.

Born and brought up in Zimbabwe, Paula moved to London in 1989 and has lived there ever since. The Girl on the Train is her first thriller.

Goodreads

_20161222_150102_20161222_150049

Follow me around the Internet

Instagram||Twitter||Tumblr

Leave a Reply

