Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey Cover JpegTitle : Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction, Chic Lit

Rating: 4 star

Finding Audrey is a novel written by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shopaholic Series, no other than Sophie Kinsella. This Novel focuses on Audrey, a teenage girl who suffers in an anxiety disorder which affects her daily life. This novel is a blend of comedy, romance and heartwarming moments that will make you inspire and entertain.

I actually got curious about this book because of its Title and cover. Who’s Audrey and what happened to her?, these were the thoughts I have before I read this book. I actually liked the whole book and it is a fell-good novel for me. This novel is all about an anxiety disorder of a teenage girl and how she overcomes all her fear in order to cure it. I find myself laughing and rolling my eyes on some parts because it felt so real and it’s like I encountered some of them that’s why I really liked it.What more good about this novel is that it focuses on the relationship and the significance of  family in life. This is highly recommended for those teen readers who wanted a very entertaining novel yet will make you dream and hope as you see Audrey’s life on how she lost herself and made it comeback again because of love. A truly inspiring novel that one must read.

 

Detailed Review:

 

  • Does the Title intrigue me or interests me

I started to read this book without reading the synopsis of it so I really have no idea what was all about.I actually thought Finding Audrey was like Paper Towns or  Looking For Alaska but I was wrong. It was different and Sophie Kinsella is so clever to titled it like that. I like the whole mysterious effect of it.

 

  • Did I agree on some point of views on it?

Yeah. I do agree a lot on the views of it. I actually experienced some of them and it felt so good to see positive and negative looks about Audrey’s experiences. The advices were good too and I find it really helpful.

 

  • Author’s style used in the book.

The style used was so creative! It felt like an all-in-one book, a therapeutic, a comedy, a love story and it was really entertaining.

 

  • If the language or style used is convincing to define the character.

Yes. She delivers it great for every character. Audrey, her mom, dad, brother and Linus have convincing characters. I really do like their mother because she was really funny and really entertaining. (Sorry, I’ve been using the word entertaining so much.)

 

  • If the characters were represented as what the story suggest.

Yes it do. They are all represented as what they should be.

 

  • If the ideas and concepts are clear.

The anxiety disorder, the game and other concepts were clearly stated.

 

  • Physical appearance of the book. (Cover, binding, layout format etc.)

I liked it! Simplicity is so great!

 

  • If it successful in its goal or purpose of the story. (If it made me cry, laugh, inspired or the emotion that one should feel on the book

Yes, it was successful in this part. I guess because it was a teen-novel, it was light and very heartwarming one that it made me dream, hope and made me inspired about the things that one might encountered. I learned a lot of things while reading this book and it also made me realized some things that I actually did past then and I might encounter.

 

  • Favorite part of the story.

Audrey’s moment with Linus when the were at Starbucks and they give names which was hard to spell. I really love that part.

 

  • What I don’t like from the story.

None. I liked every part of it!

 

  • Favorite Quote in the book.

“I think what I’ve realized is, life is all about climbing up, slipping down, and picking yourself up again. And it doesn’t matter if you slip down. As long as you’re kind of heading more or less upwards. That’s all you can hope for. More or less upwards.”
Sophie Kinsella, Finding Audrey

yell sig

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

