Book Review: Never Never Series by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never-Never-Colleen-Hoover Title: Never Never Series

Author: Collen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, New Adult, Contemporary, Paranormal, Mystery, Fiction, Fantasy, Suspense

Rating: 3 star

Never Never is written by Colleen Hover and Tarryn Fisher. It is a young adult, contemporary and mystery novel focused on Silas and Charlie.

I liked the whole pace of the story because it is not slow. Every detail or chapter leads to something. I liked how the mystery vibe of it that made me want to read it more and find out what really happened to them.

As any other book it also made me think of its title like if there was something hidden meaning to it like the other books. It’s a good thing that it made me curious why it was entitled liked that.

Some stuffs about the book made me a little bit disappointed but it was a good book though.

Never-Never-Colleen-HooverTitle: Never Never (Part 1)

Rating: 4 star

Best friends since they could walk.
In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember.
She’ll do anything to forget.

 

I am completely hooked because, “Hello? The story starts up with the mystery vibe even it is just the first chapter.” I like the vibe and stuffs like I am solving something just by reading the book. I was also got curious about the title why it was like that so I continued to read it. I would had lied if I say that I didn’t love it. I love the first part because it was just the opening of the whole mystery thing going on about Silas and Charlie.

The ending of the first part gives me a little hope that it will be something which is a good thing because it left you curious for all the revelation that was found out along the whole story.

 

Never-Never_-Part-Two-Colleen-Hoover-

Title: Never Never (Part 2)

Rating: 3 star

“Never forget that I was your first real kiss. Never forget that you’ll be my last.
And never stop loving me between all of them.
Never stop, Charlie.
Never forget.”

 

This is the start when some clues were found out on how did they became like that. I liked how I found out what Never Never means. I like the vibe on their journal and letters. They were in H.S but you can still feel some love from them. Well, that’s how it works right? You loved a book if you found a connection to it.

The whole Part 2 actually focuses more on Silas which means all his views and feelings were visible that you got more of him because of it. The love and care that he shows even the situation from the Part two is like that.

Some parts also made them like selfish persons and somewhat I don’t like some truths that they found out along the way.

 

Never-Never-Part-Three-by-Colleen-HooverTitle: Never Never (Part 3)

Rating: 2 stars

“Fate is the magnetic pull of our souls toward the people, places, and things we belong with.”

 

The last part of the book and this is when the story ends. Most of the truths about them were unfolded already. So it was like they were making progress about the whole thing.

The whole act and Silas theory was a little bit shallow that it made me a little bit disappointed on how did the ending goes like that.

 

 

 

Detailed Review:

 

  • Does the Title intrigue me or interests me?

Super! It is really interesting and I found myself searching for clues as I am reading and finding out why it was entitled like that. Well, after finding out the meaning about it, it was interesting and it didn’t fail to impress me.

 

  • Did I agree on some point of views on it?

I guess I’ll say it’s 50-50. There are some points that I agree like trusting the present than the past but there are some things that I didn’t agree like the views of Silas about Charlie when she changes and said that he cannot love the new her.

 

  • Author’s style used in the book.

Opening with a lot of mystery going on is a good thing that it made the readers more curious about the entire story however some points were just left and forgotten.

 

  • If the language or style used is convincing to define the character.

It was in point of view of both Silas and Charlie which made it more easier to know their feelings and emotions. It’s helpful in that way.

 

  • If the characters were represented as what the story suggest.

You could picture Silas as epitome of male because he is caring, gentleman, lovable and other more traits you could fall in love with but the one thing that I hated about him is the part when he said to Charlie that he couldn’t love the new her, the personality she is showing or something like that. I know it’s only a book but DON’T HATE ME. It just it ruined everything. Some traits and actions doesn’t fit together.

 

  • If the ideas and concepts are clear.

The book fails in this criteria. After reading the series, I was like “what?”. There are so many things that were not justified and explained clearly. It felt like the mystery is just a mystery, there’s no answer for every question it gave to the readers. So many holes and the ending was kind of depressing.

 

  • Physical appearance of the book. (Cover, binding, layout format etc.)

The cover is great but I don’t see much connection of it to the story. I thought it was something to do with water or the flower but it was not.

 

  • If it successful in its goal or purpose of the story. (If it made me cry, laugh, inspired or the emotion that one should feel on the book )

Somewhat it made me got curious and it made me fell in love with the characters but not that much.

 

  • Favorite part of the story.

The part when the “Never Never” was explained.

 

  • What I don’t like from the story.

I don’t like the tarot reader part… It also didn’t gave answers and I thought that the reason behind the whole thing was that shallow. I don’t like the epilogue too. It just doesn’t make sense to me. 

 

  • Favorite Quote in the book.

“I’m Tetris Silas. All my pieces and parts are going to fit into all of your pieces and parts.”
Colleen Hoover, Never Never

 

When there was about only 20 pages left, I asked my self on how could it end in just few pages. There are still piles of answers that are needed to be justified. I was hoping for more but I guess that’s just how fate works. This is a H.S love story and most of the Colleen Hoover’s novel where much deeper… Maybe that’s why it got me disappointed.

I still love it though because there are still lessons that I got from it. As what my favorite quote from The Perks of Being a Wallflower, “Try to be a filter not a sponge.”, I still learned something from it. The power of love that could do anything and where the past is still a part of you but you could make it better on your present.

 

 

 

yell sig

Leave a Reply

