Book Review: Every Day by David Levithan

every-day-david-levithan

Title: Every Day

Author: David Levithan

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy, Fiction, Glbt

Rating: 5 star

 

Every Day is a Young Adult novel written by David Levithan that focuses on A’s life who wakes every morning in a different body. It could be anyone and there is no warning at all on which body A will be in. A’s every day life is set by rules like never get too attached and just live as what the body A’s got should do. These changes when A wakes up in the body of Justin and meet Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon.

My verdict on this novel is that it is a superb story. Just by reading the synopsis, you could get the idea of it and you’ll find yourself craving for more. The whole idea is amazing. Every day a different body and every day a different life, it is really a great idea that the author come up with this kind of story. I was amazed on the plot of the story. I also liked the details on A’s personality and some facts about him.

The story really intrigue me. “A” is an unidentified soul or something like that is moving from different body every day. Isn’t it sad? That’s the first thing that came into my mind. I don’t know if it just me but I do feel A’s pain and every emotion A has. The whole book is amazing. I like the part when A moves from different body to another, it feels like you’re in someone life to another one.

The ending? Well, I liked it that way. That’s the most appropriate ending for the story and I liked it. Seeing the whole story ended up like that gave ease to me for what A’s life should be. I liked this story a lot and highly recommended for those who wants a different kind of fiction story.

 

Detailed Review:

 

  • Does the Title intrigue me or interests me?

Yes. It intrigues me and it interests me on what story A’s got inside.

 

  • Did I agree on some point of views on it?

Somewhat I do agree about their decisions and acts about the state A and Rhiannon are in.

 

  • Author’s style used in the book.

This book has the point of view of A which is I guess better because we got to know more about A and A’s experiences.

 

  • If the language or style used is convincing to define the character.

Yes, David Levithan nailed it. I felt like just by reading the whole book, I know A a lot more and the feelings A got can be felt just by reading some of A’s thoughts.

“A sensation that can only come from the euphoric of feelings: Belonging.”

 

  • If the characters were represented as what the story suggest.

Yes, they act as what they should.

 

  • If the ideas and concepts are clear

80% were clear but 20% of it is not. Some from the last chapters of it where A’s mind is on battle on whether A’s going for it or not.

 

  • Physical appearance of the book. (Cover, binding, layout format etc.)

The cover is good. The elements of soul or body that is floating made it more clear that the story is all about that.

 

  • If it successful in its goal or purpose of the story. (If it made me cry, laugh, inspired or the emotion that one should feel on the book )

Absolutely! It made me feel sad, in love and other more emotions that the book suggests.

 

  • Favorite part of the story.

My favorite part was the time when A got into another body. It thrills me on what is the story of the person and it gives new character to A.

 

  • What I don’t like from the story.

Maybe the heroine itself? She’s not that interesting. 

 

  • Favorite Quote in the book.

“If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”
David Levithan, Every Day

 

These are the other books that is included in the series. I haven’t read it yet because I don’t know, I liked that ending on the book 1. Another Day is just in point of view of Rhiannon, a different perspective of the Book 1. Well, maybe that’s why I don’t have much interests about it and heard some reviews on Goodreads that it wasn’t that good because it was just retelling the whole story. While the Six Earlier Days focuses on A’s life before the time setting of Ever Day.

ed

snapped from Goodreads

Over all, this novel leaves a hundred questions on my mind and it really do impressed me.

yell sig

Leave a Reply

